New Photographer

sondrapage

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone! I am here to learn about photography so I can improve and enjoy taking photos even more. I have had a Sony Nex-3N and Nex 5 for about 3 years now, along with two new lenses that I purchased earlier this year. I have the F 28mm F2 and the F 4.5-6.3 OSS lenses. I want to do indoor photography, as well as weddings and some landscape/nature photos. I took a photography course in college, along with a course online recently.

I recently photographed a family members wedding but was not impressed with the lighting in the photos. I did shoot in auto because that is what I am familiar with, as I am still learning manual. I think my biggest struggle with manual is my camera is a point and shoot rather than a DSLR. I do not have the money currently to get a new camera, but would be interested in the future when it is affordable. Would this improve the speed of adjusting in manual mode? Or is there a specific E mount lense available that would allow more light in a low light setting? I feel as if my camera does very good in well lit areas, along with outside.

I will have plenty of questions to follow. I am here to improve and learn, not to be criticized. Please be patient and give all the advice you may have. Thanks!

Would this improve the speed of adjusting in manual mode? Or is there a specific E mount lense available that would allow more light in a low light setting?
Welcome!

Yes, the short answer is that different cameras can/will focus faster than others. It could be that your camera needs more light, and it could also be that it is simply slower to focus. Even with a wider aperture, the camera could still "hunt" for focus, so buying a faster lens may or may not be the optimum fix. Does your camera have a focus-assist light beam, and is it turned on?

Welcome aboard.