New set-up

jor133d

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Ok, let pretend here. You are the salesman at the camera store. I just walked in and I am looking for a professional set-up (but I have a lower budget, I’m a college student). As a salesperson with experience taking photos personally, what would you recommend to me for a set-up to purchase? and why? I will primarily be focused on weddings and graduation portraits.

Thanks,
Jordan

What do you mean by 'set-up'? Are you looking for a Camera? Lights?

What's you experience level? What have you used in the past and what do you have now?

Lower budget...lower than what? The cost of a house, a car or a big mac? ;)

what I mean by set-up is camera and lighting. I am assuming the lighting for documenting a wedding would be more of just advanced flashes.

I don't have a lot of expirence. I have been using a point and shoot camera as a hobby. I would just like to expand on my hobby and have good enough equipment for the wedding photos that a friend asked me to do.

http://destreedesign.com/blog/index.php?showimage=7

What I mean by lower budget, $2000 or less. Is that's possible.

I assume you are thinking about digital...but perhaps a 35mm film SLR?

Most wedding photographers that I see now...shoot with digital SLR camera...and those aren't cheap.

The thing about shooting weddings...is that they are once in a life-time events...or at least they should be. Which means there there is very little margin for error by the photographer. I would never recommend for someone to shoot a wedding without at least two cameras, two flashes, two lenses (don't have to be the same, but at least two that can be used in most situations). Then there are all the other things like film or digital memory...that you will need plenty of. Extra batteries, cords and anything else that may run out or stop working for no apparent reason.