New telephoto lens - beginner

maramessi10

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi there, I'm new to photography and currently have the Canon EOS 1300D DSLR camera with similar entry level lens, ES-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 DC III

I learned quite quickly it wasn't a good enough lense to catch good images of moving wildlife (birds mainly) and I would need a telephoto lens.

I've got my eyes on a basic affordable number but I just wanted advice from those who know best, rather than depend on online reviews.

This is what I am looking to buy ....

EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III - Jessops - Lenses

I do have a very basic understanding of what I am talking about and really couldn't argue why I want this other than it has a zoom lens of 75-300.

It just seems to be the only affordable Canon lens which has a zoom of 300.

Thoughts?

I have owned the 75-300 on a crop body sensor camera for many, many years. Although it reaches substantially far it leaves much to be desired. I think your money would be better spent on a 55-250 STM refurbished from canon. That is a lens that i'm WAY more happy with than the 75-300. If you want, i can try and get some test shots with each. You won't miss the extra 50mm, trust me.

Will be taking some photos soon, I'll add them to this post within the hour.

What is your budget?

Unfortunatley good quality lenses cost quite a bit, and there isn't really a way round it. The good news is they also tend to retain their value well and could last you for years so can be considered as more of an investment.

That lens you have linked to isn't great at all I'm afraid, it's soft, slow and suffers from quite a bit of CA. I have a copy and mostly it stays in my drawer. If you are dead set on a consumer grade 70-300mm then the best Canon one is the 70-300mm IS
Canon EF 70-300mm f4-5.6 IS USM Lens Best UK Price - Compare Prices Here - UK Stock. but it's a bit more costly. There are a few good deals to be had on a used copy though.