New to DSLR photography - first pic for critique

medic001918

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I posted this in the people and animals forum, but then I realized that I probably should have posted it here. I can't figure out how to move it, so if an admin wants to remove the other thread, that's okay.

But here's the original post...

Hey everyone,
I'm new to DSLR photography. I'm starting to get into it some more. Until now I've always had point and shoot cameras that took good photographs, but I wanted something better. I'm presently shooting a Nikon D80 w/an SB-600 flash. My glass that I'm shooting with is the kit 18-55 Nikkor lens, a 50mm 1.8 and a tamron 70-300 Di lens. I've been trying to shoot in manual mode as much as I can so that I can truely understand how to take control of my photos.

So now on to the topic of the thread. This is a photo I took of my dog a few weeks ago. It has minimal post processing using the photo editor that came w/my D80 (I'm picking up photoshop this week hopefully). Please feel free to comment some thoughts on the photo. Hopefully over time I'll be able to learn enough and to produce the quality of photos that I see here and on other forums.

Thanks,
Shane

mayaprint.jpg

It could be image compression from my dialup, but its eyes look out of focus. faces of anyone/anything need to have the eyes in focus.

To me it looks like you wanted to use the available light (in a room) for this photo, leaving the flash alone, which as such is a good choice, I say, but in order to get enough light, either you or your camera chose the widest open aperture possible giving you the shallowest possible DOF (depth of focus), and with this you only have to have a heartbeat or breathe in once and you might move slightly out of focus in the moment of taking the photo. And I think this is what happened here and why the eye is no longer entirely IN focus.