New to DSLRs, looking to buy a second lens.

purpleperson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi! This is my first post, so sorry if this is in the wrong place! I am new to DSLRs. I recently got a cannon rebel t3 as a gift. I have the 18-55mm kit lens. I am interested in getting a new lens but I'm not sure which one would better suit my needs. I love to take pictures of wildlife but it is hard to get close to them and my lens just doesn't zoom enough. I also love taking close up photos of my pets at home.

I am interested in these two lenses.
-Cannon EF-S 55-250mm F/4-5.6 IS STM
-Cannon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM

Which one do you think would better Suit my needs? What are some pros and cons of both. I am not overly familiar with everything yet but I am trying my best!

Here are two sample pictures I've taken, any pointers would be much appreciated. I've only been trying to figure things out for about a month now.
c48315f1cb52230c7cbd1c0ee24aeacf.jpg
1842c91d732f232b0abf57a905152b3a.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

250mm of zoom on a crop-body camera will bring you in much closer!

The f/1.8 lens, on the on the other hand, would be nice in low light.

In my opinion the 50mm f/1.8 should be an excellent second lens. Good for low light. Better pictures. My personal second lens was 75-300mm and I found that the 50mm f/1.8 is a lens I should have bought earlier.

Close up you can use the 18-55mm but for wildlife you may need a zoom lens.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:
Zoom for number 2 and macro-prime for 3.
Then a fisheye, a longer zoom or prime, a hyperzoom, another prime, a faster lens.......it has no ending, you know.