new to film

Matt.H

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am just starting out in the world of film and have some questions.

1. I know that this question has been asked before and I know the results vary, but what is a good general all around film of good quality (both color and b/w)? and by good quality I mean semi-pro/pro. (I love shooting landscape/nature/still life)

2. How do I go about getting it developed? Since I am just starting out I dont want to dive right into doing it myself.

Thanks, Matt

Tri-x and agfa apx are my favorites, although apx is no longer being made. Tri-x is around 400 asa and is a bit on the grainy side. T-max is also nice and slower than tri-x. Right now I'm trying foma, but I havn't developed it yet to see whether I like it.

For developers, all I've tried is d-76 which is good stuff and is cheap and easy to find. I've never sent out any b&w, but there are lads who will do it for you. On the other hand both Kodak and Ilford have c-41 process b&w that you can take to any one hour place.

Enjoy playin' with yer film!

Check around in your area for a pro lab that will process the film. Give them a call and ask if they do C-41 B&W as well as standard.

I like both Ilford and Kodak's B&W films; it's hard to go wrong with either. Once you've shot a few rolls and had the chance to look over your negatives, you may want to take the step to developing at home. If you have a community college or art school nearby, check into their photography and darkroom classes. (You don't need a darkroom to develop film, btw - but it's these types of classes that will show you how.) You'll find it's easy to learn and very enjoyable - and you'll save yourself tons of money in the long run.

I have no color print film to recommend, I'm sorry. I only shoot color slide film, and for that, Fuji Provia or Velvia are my top picks. Others will have to weigh in here for you.

Have fun with it! :)