New, to forum,...

zen_and_ink

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,
I'm kinda new to digital photography, but have been into photography in general for a while.
It all started when at the tender young age of 11 I decided that I would do more paintings, and as I painted kinda slowly, I figured I'd get a cheap little camera and shoot things that I may want to paint later. It was a Vivitar IC100 (I wouldn't have remembered exactly what kind but I just saw this thread at another forum and it brought back so many fond memories) http://iamsicktoo.multiply.com/reviews/item/1

I got that little Vivitar right at the end of the school year, and by the end of that summer I had the bug,...the shutterbug!
While at the flea market with my family I spotted an old Pentax (something, not the K1000, actually never had one of those) with a few lenses and a bag. The guy wanted 75 bucks for the whole kit, so I began to beg my father, and beg, and beg,...we had almost made it back to the car before I finally broke him down. I was a real photographer now!

I went on to work with the art teacher in middle school doing some random events/sports photography for the yearbook (though I'm sure she was just humoring me) one of my shots from a girl's basketball game actually made it into the yearbook! Later when I was 14 I volunteered with the Soil and Water Conservation Service, in their PR dept. (actually had my own cubicle, with a window!) and got to use some of their cameras that were actually decent (a Canon AE-1, I know not THAT decent, but the other one they loaned me was an Olympus OM4t, that was a great camera) and learned a lot working with Jodi Christensen my "handler".