new to landscape...help!!

phtoamatt

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi-

I am actually an amateur meteorologist, so I use a camera to help take pictures of clouds and other stuff (haze, mist, sky conditions)..but in the process, I have simulatenously taken in interest in general landscape photography. I have bought a book on it, and read up on it in some other at the bookstore. I am having difficulty understanding, film aperture, ISO speed, lens diameter etc...not so much in their definitions but what combo. to use to get best results. I would be taking photos under a variaty of conditions. I live about 1/4 mile south of the San Francisco city limit, and a state park San Bruno Mountain begins just behind me across the street (the "front" of my house points directly into SF with a very good view). I'm at a moderately high elevation at my house, but a 10-15 walk into the park gives me an extra 100-150 foot altitude boost to 800-850 feet above sea level, without obstruction from trees or rooftops. According to books I've browsed/read through the best time for photos in around sunset/sunrise. The day before yesterday, (it's 2:30 AM Jan 25 so this was in the afternoon of the 23rd, sky was absolutely the clearest I've seen (maybe once a year cycle). Visibility was 30+ miles. There are several areas I'd be shooting for. One is downtown SF (sea level to 100 ft altitude) distance about 6 miles(10 km), the other twin peaks/mt davidson distance about (3-4 miles about 5-6km) depending where I'm taking the photo both of which are approx. 100 ft (33 m) higher than where I take the shots, another is mt. tamalpais distance approx 18 miles/29 km at 2,600 foot elevation (800+ meters), mt diablo 3,800 ft (1000+ meters) at 31 miles/50 km. So these are landscape long distance shots. At my disposal, I have an old olympus film camera w/ 34mm lens (not 35), autofocus, DX???, f/4 aperture, 1/125 shutter speed. I'm probably going to upgrade (I've seen film SLR's for around $200), but I am stuck w