New to Macro Photography

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by paranoidandroid13, Oct 10, 2007.

1. paranoidandroid13

paranoidandroid13 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am new to macro photography and need a decent macro lens. Any ideas on good macro lenses? What makes a good lens? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. Mike_E

Mike_E No longer a newbie, moving up!

The Upper West Side of Mississippi (you have no i
    Photos OK to edit
    Have you looked into the extension tubes? They are a really cheap alternative and work very well.

3. Garbz

Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    What makes a good macro lens? Sharpness and reproduction ratio. True macro lenses offer 1:1 or sometimes even better ratios and are fixed focal lengths. The other question then is do you want to spook your subjects? A 50mm macro lens would give you greater depth of field but the downside is to get 1:1 reproduction you need to get closer to your subject. A 105mm Macro on the other hand has a near focusing distance of around 38cm which is far enough not to scare off small subjects.

Oh and these are expensive. Extension tubes are a far cheaper alternative.

4. pandinus

pandinus TPF Noob!

Stavanger, Norway (moving to Bergen in November)
    Photos OK to edit
    I got my Sigma 105mm macro for about 500$. So it doesn't have to be the worst investment in the wold... Then again, Norway is expensive... About 150$ of that was in taxes...

You might want to look at alternative lenses to just Nikkor or Canon. Some are quite a bit cheaper, yet offer the same qualities as the original lenses for your camera.

You might want to have a look at Sigma, Tamron etc. as well as extention tubes.