New to Photography - Few Pics - C & C

newtotheforum

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all, I'm new to photography , trying to get a hang of photography techniques. Recently, I went to the sea shore and snapped few pics. Please let me know what is right or wrong in these pics.. Thanks for viewing...

#1 . Exposure 1/3 of a sec , F11 , ISO 100
DSCF0030.jpg

DSCF0030.jpg

# 2. Exposure 2/3 of a sec , F11, ISO 100

DSCF0040.jpg

few more pics......

# 3 Exposure - 1/3 sec , F11 , ISO 100

DSCF0018.jpg

# 4 Exposure 30 Sec , F11 , ISO 100

DSCF0050.jpg

#1 and #2.
A couple questions, were these cropped from a larger photo? Hand held or with a tripod?

The first one could use some space in front of the ship, giving it a place to go in the frame, instead of out of the frame.

I like #3, that's real nice, the colors are vibrant and I like the blurred water.

I definitely like #3

Now here are some points: I'll use #1 as an example &
I'm not sure if you used a tripod or not.
Most modern SLRs do a wonderful job at ISO 400. Granted shooting at lowest native ISOs is commonly advised, there's nothing wrong with 400 to be the starting point. Thus your Exposure 1/3 of a sec , F11 , ISO 100 in iso 400 gives you 2 extra stops of light so your shutter speed can be about 1/15 sec. open your aperture to f/8 even 5.6 and u get two more stops of light and your shutter speed can now be at 1/60.
Something like image one, personally I'd want to see shot at faster shutter speed to CAPTURE its presence.

#3, is a perfect for longer shutter speeds.

Just my opinion.
Good luck

Hi, first of all I thank everyone of you for taking time to view and comment on the pics....

Live_free,
I'm using ISO 100 still the pic is noisy.

Excuse my ignorance has smaller aperture got anything to do with noise??

myfotoguy ,
It was not cropped from larger pics.
I used a tripod
Yeah Pic 1 could have been better if it was given more space in the front.

IgsEMT,