New to photography - should I look at a polarizer filter?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by caspertodd, Apr 2, 2008.

1. caspertodd

caspertodd TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I just recently purchased a Canon Xt, which is my first SLR. First off I am amazed at the difference between a $100-$200 point 'n shoot and a DSLR! I am still learning all of the functions of the camera, and am trying to learn proper ways to compose a picture instead of just taking snapshots of something. I know the affect of polarizers, and am looking at possibly buying one such as a Hoya Pro1 or a B+W multi coated circular polarizer. Is it too early for me to consider adding filters (other than a UV)? Should I just focus on just learning the camera first before getting into filters?

2. Dradd

Dradd TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Hell, If you have enough spare cash, it can't hurt.

Not that I'd know of course :D

3. Sim

Sim TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Agreed. If you know what they're for and can spare the cash, go for it. It just means you'll have experience with filters that much sooner.

4. sabbath999

sabbath999 No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    I find polarizers indispensable.

5. davebmck

davebmck TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I bought one two months ago and haven't used it yet. I've been busy learning other things. Buy it if you know what you want to do with it and you're ready to try it. Otherwise, save your money until you're ready for it.

6. Socrates

Socrates TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Almost ditto.

7. ChrisP

ChrisP TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    What are you looking to shoot? They're indispensible for landscape photography. I saw you mentioned B+W filters. I recently picked up a multi-coated polarizer for my 18-200VR and it's top quality. You won't go wrong there.