New to Photography. your thoughts

picman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Ok i'm completely new to photography and this is the first time I've posted anything.

what do you think? any advice you could give?

Thanks in advance.....also, sorry i couldn't get the second picture smaller.

-m

DSC_0008.jpg

DSC_20195.jpg

First of all, welcome to Forum, put your feet up, stay awhile.

I REALLY like the first one. I'm going to assume, based on your post, that there was no post processing on this pic.

My first thought was to suggest that you boost the contrast and push the color a little, but after looking at it a few times, I actually like muted like it is...maybe just a touch more contrast and push the green a wee bit...but I really like the hazy look.

The second has nice depth of field on the monkey, but it's too bad that the leaf in the foreground in over his (her?) face.

Overall, these are quite nice pics, and you should post more!

Hey,
Thanks for the advice. I was also undecided here regarding the first one. Obviously you could tell that it was very misty out which is the reason for the muted picture. it's part of the natural surrounding i was in so i wasn't sure if i should change that.

well i took your advice, pushed the contrast and the yellows/greens/reds and i think it looks great.
a little off from what was natural but photography isn't always about being natural i guess.

thanks, have a look now.
DSC_0008_2.jpg

I think you still get the mistiness and it definitly brough out the trees on the left as well as the waterfall!

Good job :thumbup:

Hey, Picman, these are beautiful - where on this big wide earth do you find these locations, with animals such as in the second photo???