New to photography....

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Dbowman, Jul 6, 2009.

1. Dbowman

Dbowman TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi all, I'm quite new to the world of photography and would need a lil bit of help. I'm sure you guys have already answered most of these questions in other threads, so I'm sorry for asking them again. I've tried looking around the forum but quite honestly it's a little overwhelming and hard to find anything.:meh:
    So yeah once again, sorry for asking old questions.

Okay I've been wanting to get into photography for quite a while now but because of lack of money, I haven't been able to get a decent cam. I even took a basic digital photography course a couple of years ago but once again, because of the lack of a proper camera I wasn't able to practice the things I learned so I've forgotten most of it. :er:
    Anyway I've been saving up some money, and I could afford one of the cheaper SLR models if I wanted to. However I'm unsure if I should just throw out the money and start with an SLR camera? What if I buy all the expensiveish equipment just to find out that I don't have any talent in photography?
    Anyway I've been looking at the Canon Powershot SX110IS:
    Amazon.com: Canon Powershot SX110IS 9MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Image Stabilized Zoom (Black): Camera & Photo
    It looks like a little bit of a hybrid between a compact camera and an SLR. You can't change lenses, but it's cheaper than an SLR, has quite a bit of manual settings and yeah...would this be a good starter cam? It seems to be getting quite good reviews.
    Still... whenever I see beginners asking about equipment, people tell them to get SLR's. So what do you guys say? Should I forget about the Powershot and get an SLR?