New to photography

SanctuS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am new to the more serious aspects of photography, such as, taking pictures other than snap shots and trying to compose the picture in a way that is pleasing to the eye.
I own a Canon Rebel T2 and 2 lenses for it a 28-90mm that came with it and a 75-300mm lens. I have taken a few rolls through the camera, but I was wondering a about a few different things...

1) What is a good type of film to use. Up to this point I have just used either Kodak or Fujicolor 200 speed film that you could buy at any walmart. I would like to know of any better, but still reasonably priced films...
2) I am interested in trying some macro photography, but I looked at the lenses are priced way beyond my teenage budget. Are there any good, but still cheap lenses?
3) Is developing film at a Wal-Mart a bad idea...or would the prints they sell me reasonably comparable to prints developed elsewhere?

There are just a few of many questions...please answer in any way you wish. Or just give pointers not even related to the post. I need all the help I can get...

I am interested in nature photography, but I have found that taking pictures of flowers is much easier as they dont run away...any tips in either or both of these fields would be appreciated

Just buy a roll of Fuji Velvia 100. You can't develop it at wal-mart, so you'll have to take it to a real lab or have a lab in a camera shop send it out.

Take pictures of really bright, colorful things and don't get prints made, just look at the processed roll of film. You'll go ballistic.