New to phtography..few questions

jubbin2001

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all!
Well in my never ending search to find out more information on photography, I find myself here :mrgreen:. I am totally new to the whole SLR thing, and for the most part have only been using the good old "point and shoot" digital cameras.

A few months ago my wife and I decided to pony up some money and get a Nikon D80 SLR. We got a 18-55mm Nikon lens with the camera, and purchased a Tamron 28-300mm when we got it as well.

My wife is the more general shooter, and I want to start working with macro shots of my saltwater aquariums. I have gotten some OK shots I guess, but I am kind of disappointed so far as to the quality of the images. I know it would be best to get a dedicated macro lens, but holy crap are they spendy! The only one I have found in my price rage so far is a used Vivitar 100mm for $150.

I have also heard about extension tubes, and tried to really get a grip as to how they work, and all that, but since I am not a photographer, some of it is still a little cryptic to me.

Do you guys think I would be able to use the extension tubes with the lenses I have? Would they produce better macro shots (of course providing I get my settings right and all that :lol:)? Is there an easy way to figuring out focusing distance with the tubes? I was looking at a Promaster set (12mm, 20mm, 35mm) since I was told they will work with the camera's TTL/EE metering as well as auto focus. Would those be a good alternative, or am I better off getting some generic ones off ebay?

Here are a couple sample shots I have done to show what have accomplished with the lenses we already have.

BamBams.jpg

Frogspawn.jpg

BlueTubs.jpg

Hitchhiker1.jpg