New to serious photography need advice, esp. on underwater photography

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by wakephotographer, Jan 26, 2009.

1. wakephotographer

wakephotographer New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Im somewhat new to serious photography and I need some advice. Most of my subjects include my friends wakeboarding. After realizing that they were better as well as I had enough common sense to be scared when upside down on a wakeboard at 25 mph lol. I turned to photography. My main angles now are from the boat, however, I am looking to get a nice waterproof housing so that I can get into an inner tube and take pictures much closer with a super wide angle lens. Any Advice on the route to go when purchasing equipment like this? Or anybody have some used gear for this theyd be willing to part with? I also am going to be doing some diving during my study on cownose stingrays this summer for school and I would like to take my camera with me so the housing would need to double on that fron as well. So tall order ahead haha but anybody got any ideas?

I attatched a couple of my pictures from the winter break of Kody riding tell me what you guys think Remember straight stock D70 setup with a 18-70mm lens from 65 feet away. I was on the swim deck to get the max height out of the pictures.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    This one was duck hunting in Poqouson VA one morning

So lets hear it how bad are they? Haha
  2. chrisburke

chrisburke New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    i havent looked at waterproof housings in a long time.. but last time i did, they were around $4000.. so I hope your ready to drop some serious coin...

as for those pics.. there is dust on your sensor or lens (probably sensor) heres just one example, but its on all your pics
    [​IMG]