New to site, some pictures and questions.

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Tyler Durden, Jul 10, 2009.

1. Tyler Durden

Tyler Durden TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I have been interested in photography for over 3 years now. I studied abroad in Rome and my roommate had a canon 20D or 30D (whatever was top of the line at the time). Whenever we traveled around Europe he always had his camera and I realized the importance of taking pictures of your travels and taking pictures in general. For the rest of my college career I dabbled with point and click cameras and even signed up for a class at my university only to drop it after finding out it concentrated on only film cameras (for some reason I do NOT want a film camera). After I graduated I bought a van and drove around with my husky for a month. I knew this was a perfect opportunity to buy a nice camera and bought a used cannon XS with the 18-55mm lens I found on craigslist for $400 (only 100 clicks). Now the trip is over and I’m teaching English in South America taking pictures every day. In a nutshell this is how I ended up posting in this forum with a great appreciation for the art of photography and wanting to learn how to truly take great pictures.

The question I have is would it be advisable to upgrade? I have my eyes set on the 40D. Being that I am in South America right now I could easily get $400 USD out of my camera that now has 2000+ clicks. I have been checking out ebay and found a couple nice 40D's in the $850 range with its stock lens. I plan on traveling a couple of years before I head back to grad school and I need a camera that can handle itself both physically and photo wise. Any suggestions? I will post a couple of pics and C+C will always be welcome. Also, I love pictures with the saturation bumped way up, may be a newbie thing???

Thanks for checking out my post and I hope to learn alot here!

Edit- being a typical newb....

Chris

[​IMG]