New to the forum C&C please

Crissybobissy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello ladies and germs, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to photography. I've been reading this site for a few days, love it here and decided to join. Right now I keep my camera on auto and am starting with the very basics, mainly compisition and trying to keep everything in focus and exposed properly.

If anyone can take the time to give me some hints are criticisms I'd really appreciate it. Thank you.

1: Trying to get a good shot of the rain on the petals

P10207011.jpg

2: Trying to capture how small he is compared to the lake

jonedge.jpg

3: Chickens LOL They thought the water was going to be cold and had to test it first.

skytay.jpg

the first one is the only decent one, the others are just snapshots

Thanks :) Do you have any tips on what I could do to make them better, please? I tried to figure out the rule of thirds, but the whole setting the subject in one third at intersecting lines sort of threw me.

The other 2 are using the rule of thirds, and I think they are a little better than "Just" snapshots.

Samanax, you must have the BBcode for those links on your desktop in a note or something, right? (Not saying it's bad; it's awesome.)

1: Trying to get a good shot of the rain on the petals.
This shot doesn't work for me. I can see the rain drops and the petals, but I don't know what kind of flower it is...it just looks like a big red mass with rain drops on it. Sometimes you gotta move around the subject while looking through the viewfinder until you see a good angle to shoot from.
2: Trying to capture how small he is compared to the lake.
It's not a bad image, but when taking pictures of children it's good to get down to their level and see the world from their perspective. I think I would have tried a shot from the right looking out towards the lake.
3: Chickens LOL They thought the water was going to be cold and had to test it first.