New to the Photography world..

gd6noob

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
so i picked up a used Canon Rebel XT 350D... im likeing it so far... its my first DSLR camera... ive always used the point and shoot ones like the Sony Cybershot and so on...

here are some pics i took while playing around with my new toy... please comment on how i could have improved, probably on using the right settings or what not..

IMG_0097.jpg

IMG_0098.jpg

IMG_0106.jpg

IMG_0101.jpg

First hello and welcome to the forum. Now Im not a pro at all. But I will tell you what I think since its always nice to have opinions from peers of the same caliber as well as the proffesionals to learn from.

1. I like the shot, I think it looks a bit soft. I see you shot it at ISO 1600 not sure why. I would like to see some of the top cropped out, maybe adjust the contrast a bit.

2. I think being a bit closer would have helped this shot greatly. I almost missed the bee.

3. I like this one the best although its a bit soft again. Again I see ISO 1600.

4. Is out of focus and kind of flat. Sorry.

Keep em coming.

Here's another two-bit opinion if you want it!

1. A polarizing filter will bring out more vivid coloring in mid-day sun. Shooting when the sun is low will also help. Otherwise I think it's a good view and interesting framing.

2. I don't know what to do here. I just don't find flowers graphically interesting.

3. This one might be better if you plucked those 2 dead stems. At least crop out the one on the right. And the flower is overexposed. The detail of the dandelion is the interesting thing here, so it needs to be sharp and properly exposed. I also question the 1600 ISO. Generally you should use the lowest ISO you have, unless there's not enough light.