New to these forums - looking for advice

MarcusM

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone, I just signed up on these forums. I had been wanting to join a photography forum for awhile but just haven't gotten around to it.

I have been doing photography for a few years now - I would consider myself an beginning intermediate amateur. I have had one class way back in 1997, and learned most everything else on my own. I didn't really get into photography heavily until about 2002 or so when I bought my first digital camera - a point and shoot Nikon Coolpix 4300.

I then bought a Canon EOS Digital Rebel, and I have been pretty pleased with it, but feel it is time to move up. The Digital Rebel is a good starter DSLR, but I think that's about where it stops. I still have the 18-55 mm kit lens it came with. I haven't gotten into additional lenses due to affordability. I don't think the Rebel's photos are as sharp as they could be, especially doing macro photography.

I also bought an old Yashica TLR that I have used a few times. I love the sharpness, clarity and detail of medium format, but the TLR viewfinder is really hard to get used to. I still haven't mastered it.

So, I am at somewhat of a crossroads right now. I want to get a new camera, but am unsure of what to get. I know it ultimately has to be my decision, but I'm wondering if I can get some feedback that might help me best determine which direction to go. I would love a Hasselblad or Mamiya medium format SLR camera, but I don't know if I'm ready to sacrifice the convenience of digital. Digital medium formats are way out of my price range, so I think I will have to stick with digital for now and maybe save up for a medium format SLR film camera down the road.