New to this site with a camera question

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by pbwhite, Jul 14, 2004.

1. pbwhite

pbwhite TPF Noob!

He everybody, i'm new to this forum and it looks awesome, i'm really exited about it for helping me learn some new stuff about photography. I'm pretty much new to photography and i'm getting ready to buy a camera for primarily wildlife and landscape photography. I'm really considering the sony DSC-F828. What do you guys think about this camera for wildlife. I'd like one with a good zoom capability. Any advise and suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I'm no expert and most of the technical terms used i'm not familiar with but i'm excited about learning. Thanks

Phillip :D

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Welcome to the site :cool:

It looks like a decent digital camera. I personally would rather have an SLR camera with interchangeable lenses.

3. pbwhite

pbwhite TPF Noob!

Any suggestions mike on an SLR camera that would be a good choice?? And why would you prefer this type of camera over the digital, if you don't mind me asking?? I Don't really know that much about either.

4. pbwhite

pbwhite TPF Noob!

This is probably a dumb question and i appologize in advance but is an SLR camera just a regular 35mm camera?? Why are these better than digital?

Thanks for the help, i have a million questions about this stuff and am eager to learn and make the right choice before buying a camera.

5. hobbes28

hobbes28 Incredible Supporting Member

Manufacturers have Digital SLRs out now. They are like the older 35mm but they have a digital chip in the place of film.
    Canon has a digital Rebel for about the same price as the Sony 828. They also have a EOS 10d for a few hundred more. Or even Nikon one (d75?) for about the same.

6. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos: