• nikon D5000

Votes: 9 47.4%

• Total voters

bmsgangster

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
im looking to spend around $800 for a camera with 2 lenses, I have been looking at the canon rebel t1i, today at costco I asked a guy working the camera area whats best and he said he would go with the nikon D5000 im new to the dslr cameras what should I go with :confused:

thanks brian

I am a Nikon guy but between these 2 cameras the Canon is a better choice.

i agree with chip here...d5000....eh. i'd skip it.

have you considered used?

commence canon v nikon war! ;)

i agree with chip here...d5000....eh. i'd skip it.

have you considered used?

commence canon v nikon war! ;)

I would buy used if it was right in my face and I could see it Im the kind of guy who only buys new off the net, but if there is a place in san diego I would buy used

I am a Nikon guy but between these 2 cameras the Canon is a better choice.

You really think so? I was just shopping for one and after handling them both at the store I went ith the Nikon. For me it was the feel of the camera and build quality. I personally just felt the cannon had a cheap hard plastic feel to it while the Nikon atleast seemed more solid. Ofcourse I could just be crazy lol.

on costco online the t1i is almost $30 cheaper and it comes with a free 4gb card

hotwire...thats pretty common thinking of build quality between the entry level cams of said brands...so it's understandable that you went with nikon.

how are you liking it? did you get the d5000?

maybe a quick review of your experience with your cam might help the op. :D

hotwire...thats pretty common thinking of build quality between the entry level cams of said brands...so it's understandable that you went with nikon.