New video guy here.

LKingston

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, my name is Laurence Kingston and this is my first post on this forum. I have been shooting video for years but I am new to to serious still photography. I got a Nikon D5100 about a year ago to use for both still and video photography. At first the D5100 was really frustrating: the exposure changed in jumps that I couldn't control, the autofocus was always hunting and I didn't seem to have much control of anything other than aperture. Then there was the aliasing and moiré...

Anyway, I've learned to work around these issues and I've grown to really love this camera. My main video camera (a Sony HVR-z7U) was in need of repair and I used nothing but the D5100 for several months and did all my videos during this time with the Nikon and if anything, they looked better (aside from a bit of moiré here and there) than they would have had I used the camcorder.

Almost everything here was shot with the D5100:

http://www.movietheaterpreshows.com/

Here are a couple of current ads that still need pro voice-overs and some other minor tweaking:

https://vimeo.com/45099390

The black and white portions of this one were shot with 50mm and 35mm primes in low light. I went back a second time to get these because the shots with the zoom lens looked so terrible. At 1.8, the primes made such good use of light that I could have easily gotten away with color, but I didn't know that at the time. The food shots were done at an earlier date with the Sony Z7. Everything else was the D5100:

https://vimeo.com/45084221

Do I wish I had bought a Canon? Well at the time it would have been a better choice I'm sure, but having stuck out the decision to go Nikon (and bought several lenses) I am happy with my choice and here to stay. The new D3200 has full manual control and I'm sure that the D5200 (or whatever they decide to call it) will as well. The D4 and D800 would be interesting if they had articulating screens.