New Year's Resolutions in Photography

Aoide

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.photine.net
I saw this over at the photoblogs.org blog and thought it was an interesting topic.

Photography wise, are there any resolutions that you are making for the new year?

As for me:
1.) New website (I actually couldn't wait, so I've already started. I'll put the link back in my profile once it's up and running.)
2.) Save up money for a DSLR. This one may actually take more than one year. LOL.
3.) Try to find my style. As I mentioned in the photography style post, I'm new to photography and so my style is all over the place. I'm not sure what I like and what I don't.
4.) Keep up with the photo memes. (PhotoFriday, Lensday, Theme Thursday, etc.) I like them because they force me to get out there and shoot and to use my creativity to interpret the theme.
5.) TPF. Post at least twice a month in the photo gallery and participate in the Photo Challenge.

I guess that is all for now. No huge earth shattering goals. Just trying for consistency.

How about you guys? Anything you want to put in writing about your photography goals in the coming year? :camera:

Stop me if you've heard this before...

1) Identify a central subject or theme for my work; not quite the same as finding a style, but closely related.

2) Improve my website; post more and better, improve the presentation (already underway).

3a) Don't obsess about the gear, and live by the One-Metre Rule: the camera within one metre of me is the best one in the world. Use it. Taking lots and lots of photos - preferably good ones - goes without saying.

3b) Convince the Editor-In-Residence that the budget allows a DSLR this summer. This does not conflict with 3A as long as I don't get hung upon what I "can't do" with my OMR camera.

matthew robertson said:
3a) Don't obsess about the gear, and live by the One-Metre Rule: the camera within one metre of me is the best one in the world.