Newb here...have ?'s about cameras

Rebel Storm

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello guys and gals. I am new to this forum and have a couple ?'s about cameras. I have been photographing for the past 4 years. My latest camera is the Rebel XT. I have read several reviews about this camera and the new Rebel XTi...some good and some not so good. Here is my dilema...it seems in order to be respected as a photographer you should own a 30D or above. I am presently looking to buy a new camera and am tossing the idea of the XTi or the 30D. My problem is I am very petite...5'1" barely above 100 lbs. My ring finger is a 3 1/2. My 12 yo nephew has larger hands than me. I have tried the 30D and it seems very heavy for me and my fingers can't grip the camera body very well. My finger barely is able to operate the shutter button. For the little time I was able to try this camera my wrist grew very tired. I don't want to spend that kind of money just to let the camera sit in my bag because I can only shoot 2 hrs versus 6 hrs. I guess to make a long ? short, is the Rebel XTi really that less of a camera when compared with a 30D? I don't know if the benefits of the 30D would outweigh my comfort level with my current XT or the new XTi. Any input from you professional guys and gals would be greatly appreciated.

My wife is your size. She shoots with a 20D with a battery grip and a 70-300 lens for several hours at a time. Neck straps help.

The XTi is a nice beginners camera....small but nice.