Newb looking for some C&C

RockDawg

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm pretty much new to photography in general, but I've been reading a lot and playing around with my D40. These are my first attempts at shooting in manual mode or in the snow (like I said I'm a newb so pretty much everything I do is a first :lol: ). Let me know what you think and be honest. I'm not sensitive.

2289502022_d031d7852e_b.jpg

2289499410_4ef00b7787_b.jpg

2289496638_510bb33536_b.jpg

2288705477_db576fa04c_b.jpg

I think #1 has the best composition and works well. :thumbup:

#4 is a nice idea however I find the area to the right too dark.

Thanks for the input. I feel like I struggle with composition. Sometimes I feel like I'm just taking an arbitrary picture and lack that "artistic vision" so many on here seem to have.

Anyone else? I would really like some opinions to help refine my eye for this stuff.

#1 is the best one but I think #4 have the best possibility. Try to get back and shoot it again this time with a longer shutter speed so the fluidity of the waterfall and the water is more visible. I think the contrast of that and the ice (the floating ice, sorry, I don't know its name in english) would look pretty cool.

Nice RockDawg! NIce!

#1 is my favorite but they're all good! I think the key to these, along with your composition skills, is the snow. I don't think they would look that dramatic without the snow.
I know what you mean about lacking the artistic skills of others on here. I'm suffering from that very lack. I have 1200 clicks on my Canon 40D and haven't ended up with anything "exceptional" yet.....:x...
I'll just keep trying!

-Jim :)

This is not C&C, just a suggestion of something you might try. A good dark neutral density filter and a tripod would let you blur the water on that last shot. That might be a good thing to add to your "wish" list if you want to take these kinds of pictures a lot.