Newbei bought a 35mm without VR

RichardsTPF

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I just received my new 35mm f1.8. This len has no VR. i took couple pics to compare with my 18-200mm. It's faster, but it's hard to get sharp image due to my unsteady hand. Is it normal challenge for newbei? How can I practice? I want to use it as my walk around len, so I can't always carry a tripod.

VR really shouldn't be necessary on a lens as wide as 35mm. Keep your shutter-speed above 1/60 and you should be fine. Learning to hold a camera steady is a practiced art; I know one photographer who can hand-hold and produce tack-sharp images at 1/4 of a second. Me? I've been shooting for 30+ years and am lucky if I can hand-hold 1/20! Now, having said that, is it definitely motion blur due to slow shutter-speed and not a case of very thin DoF due to you shooting everything at f1.8? (A lot of people who get fast primes tend to "lock" them at their largest aperture when they first get them)

:thumbup:

Also, you might think of a light weight monopod. I saw a fellow recently traveling on a cruise in China have his p%s on one as it provide that extra bit of support.

How ares you standing/holding camera when shooting? Keep elbows tight to your side and stand with one leg forward for balance. Are you keeping one hand on camera and one on lens? You can also make a tripod out of yourself by sitting down with your knees up and spread about the width of your shoulders (if that makes sense). Still upper arm close o body but rest your elbows on your knees. I have a 50mm with no VR. It doesn't really need it. As long as you are focusing in the right spot and using correct aperture/shutter speed your pictures should cone out good.