newbie FAQ

tranceplant

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hey everyone, I am new to this forum and its officaly my first post :-D woohoo

Ok i will start photography school next year, which is awesome, i am not a pro tho very far from that. I have a budget from 500 to 1000$ - i would like to buy a 35 mm slr camera and a lens to practice and play around before i actualy start! I really was hoping someone could help me out! I was hoping to take great B&W pics!

I was thinking of buying a used nikon f80 or the canon elan - is that a good choice? or should i buy new or another camera would better to start!

Also maybe someone can help me out for the lens choice because i am totally clueless... I know i like to do close ups (you know a detailed object and a blurry background). I will be mostly be taken pictures in the city and other stuff like that. I am not into landscape and wide fields yet, but ill give it a try when i get the chance!

OHH another quick questions :) is it better to put a little bit more money into a body camera and less for the lens or it is better to buy a good lens and buy an average camera?thx

Antoine

I am not a pro or anything. But personally, I would buy as much body as I can. You can alway upgrade lenses in the future.

Hello and welcome aboard.

Both are nice cameras. I shoot Nikon, but alot of Canon fans around. Try them out see which feels good to you.

Go with a nice 50mm. something in the 1.4 f-stop range. You can get an extension tube for close-up work.

And put the money into the lenses. You can always upgrade the body.

Though a good body will have more features to play with, ultimately the lens makes (or breaks) the image. If the glass isn't good, the final image won't be either.

Both the cameras you mention are up to the task. I'd also look around Ebay or pawn shops for some good deals on older manual cameras. There's a good chance that your instructor is going to want you to shoot mainly in manual mode anyway.