Newbie from Alberta

mwcfarms

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.deannachambers.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone just a quick hello. Mother and farmers wife living in southern alberta. Im new to photographty mostly. Ise a Canon P&S currently. I shot with a pentax 35mm in highschool and some ad copy work straight out but my memory is short and Im planning on purchasing a new DSLR at the end of the month and get back into it. I am currently debating between a Nikon D90 with an 18mm-105 VR lens (kit lens) and then getting a 50mm to complement it or the Canon Rebel T2i 18mm to 55mm kit lense and then getting another lens to complement. I want a camera that will last me for a couple years to learn the art and function capability of my camera in manual mode. I have small children so will want something that does great portrait work and probably will want something that has good macro capabilty. Now my husband wants me to get some good farming shots also so something scenic. I know tonnes of variety scale here haha. Any advice from the seasoned experts is appreciated.

Welcome aboard. How's the weather down there, sunny & windy as usual? :lol:

Pretty much any Digital SLR camera will fit the bill for what you listed, although none that I know actually have a 'macro' mode or feature like P&S digicams do. With an SLR, macro is all in the lens or lens accessories, so again, any camera will do.

One thing to note is that you mentioned two cameras that are in different categories. The D90 is Nikon's current mid-level (prosumer) model, while the T2i is in Canon's Rebel line (entry level). Comparing the two would be like comparing apples to oranges in a way.
A better comparison would be to compare the D90 to the Canon 50D, or the Nikon D60 to the Rebel T2i