Newbie Help! How to take great photos through windows of home?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by jrasche2003, Jan 7, 2013.

1. jrasche2003

jrasche2003 New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Hello!

I am a true newbie, meaning, I just got my first DSLR this past weekend. I have worked with 35mm SLR's in the past, and got swept up in a digital point and shoot with a optical zoom, but I missed the feel and the pictures produced with an SLR.. there really is no other.

I have a Canon 300D that I picked up this weekend for $125-it has a sigma 18-50mm lens and I purchased a Canon EFS 55-250,, f/4-5.6 IS.

So as I am learning the functions and such, I wanted to start snapping right away. My main focus is always birds/nature and insects. And since it's winter, insects are the only thing I can't take photos of right now, unless I want to hunt down the spiders and centipedes lurking in my home.. LOL So I have a bird bath on my deck and bird feeders not far from the house windows and I thought I would use my telephoto and try to snap some shots of the birds that are visiting.

Of course I am sure you know what I am about to say.. they are not perfectly in focus, and the light is somewhat dark. I want to go to a nature preserve this weekend where they have a building with windows and feeders on the outside, and I would love to get some good shots, so I am looking for help.

How can I best take photos through windows with my telephoto lens and produce sharp pictures? There has to be a way!?

Thank you from the newbiest of newbies! :) :wink:
  2. CaptainZero

CaptainZero New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit