newbie help

nickh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hi

I just developed my first roll of film from my first camera(slr). a canon elan 7n with a ef 28-105mm usm II. it was a roll of kodak super gold 400 i got for free when i bought the camera. i am very new to this so i dont know what I did wrong but all the pictures came out very grainy, even the ones in daylight.
what could possibly be wrong here? i know if the lighting was low it would cause some grain, but could there be something i set incorrectly on the camera? i believe it was on full auto as i was just testing it out... any ideas?

I doubt it was the UV filter mate. The only thing I can think of for a 400 to give grain is if perhaps you pushed the film? E.g. set it to a 800 by mistake...but on full auto it shouldnt have done that.

Check the manual on how to set your film ISO settings :)

Well.. IMO he didn't push it (cause then the pics would be foggy, cause normal labs don't process your roll like a pushed roll :p).

Maybe it's just the normal grain of Kodak Gold's ISO 400?

If you could post a pic it would help a lot, I think.

nickh said:
i know if the lighting was low it would cause some grain, but could there be something i set incorrectly on the camera? i believe it was on full auto as i was just testing it out... any ideas?

Low lighting doesn't cause grain, but underexposure, which is a problem that occurs in low lighting, can increase grain.

You'll need to post a pic to get good help/advice.

As fancy as the manufacturers claim the auto-exposure modes on their cameras are, they are still dumb machines, and it's easy for them to be fooled.

ksmattfish said:
nickh said:
i know if the lighting was low it would cause some grain, but could there be something i set incorrectly on the camera? i believe it was on full auto as i was just testing it out... any ideas?

Low lighting doesn't cause grain, but underexposure, which is a problem that occurs in low lighting, can increase grain.