Newbie here... :) Can anyone recommend a good travel sized lighting solution?

ModelPerfect

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Here's my situation: I will be traveling around Central America, backpack-style, for about three months this summer to shoot portrait and figure photography. I don't have much equipment at all nor do I have much money to spend on equipment. I guess this is more or less an experimental vacation (I'm totally an amateur).

One of my primary concerns is lightning, since a lot of the photos will be shot indoors and I don't really know what conditions I'll run into over there. However, since I'll be traveling around through 5-7 countries and in some sketchy environments, I'll need to travel light and compact without looking like I'm carrying expensive equipment. Can anyone recommend a portable lighting solution that might work given these restraints? Or if anyone has any suggestions as to how to work with current conditions, that would be cool too. :)

The camera I have is a Sony DSC-P9, which I bought a couple of years ago when I went through SE Asia. Back then, all I cared about was snapping some memorable moments with friends, but now I would like to explore a growing interest in photography. I've got 1 month to sort out details before I fly out. :) Any suggestions at all would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot!

-Logan

I should add the obvious solution is the camera's flash, but I'm worried about red-eye. I'd rather not use the built in flash, but maybe I don't have too much of a choice...