Newbie Here! How would I shoot this? NikonD3000

ababysean

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am totally new to the world of DSLR. I have been a point and shoot girl for years and years and finally took the baby step to move up from my 100 dollar 6 year camera....

So I am going to go practice tomorrow while the kids are in school.

How should I set this up to get this best image of MY own?

It is a bridge where I live, bright sun.

I have a NikonD3000 with the kit 18 to 55mm lens.

Thanks so much in advance!

000_0053_grafitti.jpg

95cc9662-81e4-4539-8554-d971e312aa37.jpg

Well, figuring out how to shoot something is the whole point of photography. For an exercise, try abandoning this notion that there is a "best way" to photograph something. There's all kinds of fun stuff you can do with an interesting subject, which this bridge certainly is. So figure out what aspect you'd like to emphasize and go shoot.

I like to think of potential locations as stages. Sometimes you have to wait for the action.

if you try and collect every interesting part of a subject such as this into one frame- all will be lost to confusion. I would try and do a series of shots, highlighting the most interesting details of the location in single frames. How exactly to do this is up to you.

Go on the ends of the day as well (sunrise, sunset) keep the harsh shadows down.

p!nK

Or for the light to be just right.The mid-day Sun is not to bad in the winter but the mid-day Sun light is getting harsher by the day as we move further into spring.

The best images are mostly about the light. I would use 5 or 6 strobe lights and like mrpink suggests shoot it at dusk or dawn.

I am going after I drop the kids at school around 8am.
Why are many pictures so dull and others so colorful?
Is this a lens/camera thing or is this photoshop?