Newbie here!

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by CAG76, Dec 27, 2008.

1. CAG76

CAG76 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hello Everyone,

A little about me... Years ago I bought a Canon Powershot G5, and took many many pictures with that thing. I have not taken any photography classes, but I have quite an eye for things and took many pictures with that little camera that I thought were decent. Since then I really could not turn the excitement off I wore it out until the card door broke and then bought a Powershot G9. Love the camera, haven't had it even a year yet, but after Thanksgiving Roberts Imaging had a great sail going on and with my bosses hefty bonus, I used a small percentage of it to buy a Canon EOS Rebel XSi. I know this is entry level but I just love it! I bought it with the 18-55mm lens kit (the only kit it comes in). I also have the EF 70-300mm IS USM lens. So far I love this lens!

Is there anyone else who has one of these cameras who can give me any info about it? Anything to look out for? Does anyone have any images they took with this camera? Any favorite lenses with it?

Any feedback would be great! Any photography tips would be great.

I am also new to this forum and will soon post some photos I have taken.

Christopher

2. dtornabene1

dtornabene1 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    First off, welcome. We look forward to seeing some pictures. I am an avid Canon user. While I have L series glass, I am sensitive to the fact not all can make that choice. So, I have done research to help those without.

First, the 18-55mm kit lens it terrible. I understand why you have it, but replace it. These links will take you to Calumet Photo. Canon makes a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens for $90. This would be a great portrait lens. This combined with the Canon EF 28-135mm F3.5-5.6 IS USM Lens for $420 you will dramatically take your pictures to a new level without spending thousands.