Newbie ... just wanted some educated opinions on my shots.

Need4Speed11

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Thanks all, I am new to this whole photography thing, and I wanted to get some opinions on my work/edits. I have been shooting for a hobby for about a year now, with a 'decent' camera (by a normal man standards :)), but I really want to improve, and hear some opinions. I have posted some of my shots, please let me know your thoughts, and please be kind.

Me playing with HDR tools ... sorry for the watermarks guys .. money's tight.

atraincopy.jpg

hdrshot.jpg

Non-HDR

dsc05110q.jpg

dsc05265re.jpg

Thanks in advance all ...

Last edited:
C&C per req:

1. I realy like this image. I think this is one, maybe only 1/2 step away from being a great image. I would take this back into the pixel room and rework the tone-mapping to improve the exposure on the rail cars. Right now they're too dark. I think too that the use of a polarizing filter rather than HDR would have produced a much stronger image, especially if shot early in the morning.

2. Unfortunately a LOT of sky noise here. I'm guessing this one was a bit under-exposed? It's a shame that the processing has almost eliminated the rainbow. Again a polarizer would have helped you greatly.

3. An interesting image.

4. Cute, not much more to say other than it could be improved slightly perhaps by cropping some of the right side off so that the subject isn't quite so centered.

5. Not sure what you were going for here. I'm getting nothing from it.

Just my $00.02 worth - your mileage may vary.

~John

Thanks for your words, AND /impressed/ i was using a polarizing filter on the top one ... good work.