Newbie looking for CC and Tips

*~Sarah~*

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,

I'm new here to this forum, i have been into photography for about 1 year, but i have only been using a simple point and shoot, i worked in a lab and when i saw what works of art the proffesional photographers where creating i decided i wanted to try and learn more.

I have just bought a Canon ESO 400D yesterday, i just took it from the box had a look at the book and when off adverturing, below are a small few of my pictures, it would be great to get some constructive
criticism (even if they are really bad, i don't mind you saying...lol ) about them and some tips on where to go next.

Many Thanks in advance :D

S1.jpg

S2.jpg

S3.jpg

Welcome Sarah :)

I do like the second image a lot. the last one is too dark without a well defined shilouete for my taste.

sorry, might comment more later as I am just hurrying through at the moment ;)

Thank you for your reply Alex, the second one is my favourite too

This is a slightly better picture of the building in image 3 taken from a different angle facing the sun as opposed to away from it.

townhall.jpg

The time of day will determine how a shot looks. The same scene taken in the early morning will have a very different look than if taken at noon time. Lighting is everything. (It took years for that to sink into my head) But back to your shots. The first has a nice composition to it but I think it would be better at sunset with more color in the sky. The 2nd shot is composed nicely and I feel that the 3rd shot,as in the 1st shot would be better at a different time of day( without the back lighting which causes the towers to be near silhouettes)
Enjoy the journey

Thanks for your advice Mike, Yeah with image number 1 I was too tired to wait for the sunset that day which was just about creeping about me, but i'll take onboard your advice and wait around for it next time.