Newbie on food photography. What to buy?

Luigi74

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everybody...

I'm a food photographer wannabe... I don't even have a decent camera, and here's where I need your help. I'm new in this forum, but not new at internet forums at all, based on my experience on that , I'll try to be specific to get the best advice from you.

MY GOAL: To be able to take GREAT food pictures,I'm a chef and I have to hire a proffesional photograper several times a year to get images for my menu, and advertising on my restaurant, now I want to do it myself.

THE FORMAT: Digital.

MY BUDGET: 600-800 USD.

I'll like to get the best camera for that money, the fancy lenses, and nice lightning equipment will come later. Now what I'm looking for , is a nice camera for that job, with a basic lens that can do the task properly and also the basic lightning equipment. I don't mind to go DIY in the lightbox, or maybe to get a very basic umbrella set. I think that most of my resources must go into the camera, wich in the future I can upgrade with nice lenses of specialized flashes.

Best regards and all your info will be very appreciated;)

A Tilt Shift lens would be very helpful to you in food photography. You can get a good one from $1,200-$2,200.

You'll probably want an off camera flash or two, so that's another $200-$500 a piece.

It would be nice to have a reliable remote trigger system as well, so tack on another $250-$500.

If you buy a camera body with a kit lens, such as a Canon XSi, you're looking at $600-800.

The kit lens is pretty soft, and soon you will want sharper images, so the next lens could be anywhere from $500 and up into the thousands.

By the way, I want to be a chef, so could you give me some great recipes, and tips on how to cook, so I don't have to pay resaurants to feed me, when I can do it myself, just as easily, and cheaper?