Newbie Photo

Tallullah

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all!
I am brand new to this site and LOVE it. There are some extremely talented people here with gorgeous work.
I am a newbie and almost completely clueless :blushing:. Its a bit overwhelming wading through the terminology and technical aspects but I am trying. Just thought I would post a recent photo. Your thoughts/criticisms are appreciated!

3218600085_022d77b74f.jpg

Welcome! People here are friendly and usually very helpful.

The blurred background is a plus, and the framing is good. There is a bit of softness in the main subject, though.

Your thoughts/criticisms are appreciated!
What is the shot information (exif data)? What kind of camera did you use? What were the shot settings? Was this a hand held shot? Was a tripod used?

Which photo editing program are you using? How much PP work was done to this image?

Do you have a larger image? It's hard to critique small images.

C&C - I think a tighter crop would help. Maybe more contrast and sharpening. Did you desaturate the colors or is how the flowers looked?

I would not be a fan of a tighter crop. It has a perfectly down home salt-of-the-earth feel to it, as I'm imagining grandma making hot apple cider for her grandkids that are about to come and visit.

Welcome to TPF!

Your picture is a nice addition to your 'keepers'. I particularly like the very subtle color palate. 'Gee whiz' colors do not a picture make all by themselves [though they can, if well-composed, unravel your socks!]. Quite often, you can achieve a fine result, as here, by selecting limited colors and concentrating on the composition.

You're off to a good start. And don't worry overmuch about the jargon -- it will come in time. And you'll also find that once you're comfortable with all the terms -- you'll promptly ignore them and get back to the pursuit of composing fine pictures.

Thanks everyone for the feedback!