Newbie Question about Blurry Photos

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by dkangelis, Mar 30, 2006.

1. dkangelis

dkangelis TPF Noob!

I am an amateur photographer who is aspiring to get great results with my digital camera. I own a Digital Rebel XT (I love this camera) with standard zoom lens. The problem is--it is very difficult to get perfectly clear shots without using a tripod and a static subject. At first I thought my hand was too shaky--but I didn't remember having had this much trouble with my 35mm camera. Even when I dialed my ISO to 800+--I had issues. My other concern with blurry or soft photos was "not enough light". However, I have the same problems in outdoor/daylight pictures. I understand the basic ideas of F-Stops and Shutter Speeds (even though I think this is where my problem lies). I feel like I can't just shoot a picture like I did with my 35mm. I love digital--it just seems to be not as flexible. Does anyone have any suggestions or advice?

2. ksmattfish

ksmattfish Now 100% DC - not as cool as I once was, but still

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    If you are getting good results using a tripod with a still subject, then it's definately something with your subject or with your handholding technique. Are you sure you are using good handholding shutter speeds? Something like 1/125th or faster. Maybe you just need some time to get used to holding the new camera?

3. JonK

JonK I want MORE!!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    The rule of thumb for handheld shots is to not use a lower shutter speed than the reciprocal of your lens focal length - ie. if you are using a 50mm lens you should try not to handhold using speeds less than 1/60 or 1/30 sec. as these are closest to the reciprocal of the lens (50)....another example would be 300mm lens; use speeds of not lower than 1/250 or you risk camera shake causing blurry photos.