Newbie questions & some Photos of my truck to share.

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by giorgio, Feb 9, 2009.

1. giorgio

giorgio TPF Noob!

Hi

I recently got interested in photography as a complement to my Webdesign business. So I bought a Nikon D80 with 18-135mm.

I'm still learning the theory, technical terms and concepts.

I have the 2 books of Digital Photography by Scott Kelby and I haven't yet read them all the way, just some pages here and there, but I will ofcourse, is just that his writing style and my lack of time these last days keep me from knowing what exactly I'm doing.

These are more like questions on my mind just to let you know the doubts that I have BEFORE I sit down some more hours to study(the web and/or the books), is not necesary to answer them all, some questions have the same answer.

So, I'm reading tutorials and some book chapters, but....

How are we suposed to know what settings to use on the camera?.
    Like the aperture, the shutter speed, etc.?
    I understand the logic for the elements of the Exposure, but, so far I have read that first option for ISO would be 100 if possible. But what about shutter speed..?? 1/60, 1/125?... why not 1/40?

I know why fast shutters are for moving objects and slow shutters for dark environments, and the effects you may get with it etc. according to what I have seen on books and tutorials.

If I'm outside, at 12:30PM, cloudy, I want to take a picture to some friends..., how am I going to know what shutter speed and aperture to use?. Somehow, after hours of reading I haven't yet got it clear what numbers to use, or..., doesn't matter if I use 1/40 or 1/125 because the difference isn't noticeble?. I still have to put it on Auto or Scene.

Is not that I have got a lot shooting already, nothing like that, at the contrary, I have just shoot out once, BTW the pics are at the end of this post, I haven't yet used Manual mode.

Are the tutorials and books going to teach me this?.