Newbie -- Tried searching, but still have lighting questions..

JDawggie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi All, I am looking for a lighting solution -- currently I am using utility lights (4 of them) that you can grab at most home improvement stores with 100watt flood lights, but find them cumbersome --- especially trying to hold the "screen" (white muslin fabric) in front of them to diffuse the light. I am mostly shooting flowers/products and some macro indoors. My current lens (nikon 40MM -Micro on d3100-- seems to always want more light indoors) I am looking to "upgrade to a more permanent easier-to-mange solution. After doings a bunch of searches, I am still not clear (as I am a beginner):

- Should I be looking to get a continuos lighting set up?
- Should I be looking to get a strobe set up?
- Should I be looking to get a continuous / strobe setup?

Any help would be appreciated. Also if anyone has any suggestion or links to share --- please do. I was thinking maybe one soft box and one flashpoint strobe from Adorama? Yeah? NO?

If I am completely barking up the wrong tree -- just let me know that as well.

Many thanks in advance!
-Jared

Well, if you're looking at saving some money, and you're only shooting stationary objects (not people); you should look at a hot light set. Maybe some clamps to hold things in place. If you're eventually going to start shooting moving objects, you will want strobes more than likely.

As far as my advice, I would swing by Paul C. Buff - The Beginner Bee Package

Probably the best and easiest way to get into lighting. While it's shipping, if I were you, I would pick up a copy of Light, Science and Magic.

Last edited:
Why do people love Alienbees so much? I have a pair of chinese Mettle 300c, with stands cost about $400, and according to the Alienbee spec sheet compared against my measurements, each produce more light than Alienbee B400.