Newbie wanting to get started :)

Jessarah13

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all.
Not sure if I am posting in the right area?
Short intro - I am an artist and designer - In my previous degrees I touched on photography but it was very basic and in my later course I focused more on photo editing rather then shooting the photos.
I am an artist of all trades; painter, airbrusher, silk painter, sculptor, you name it I have done it… I also then moved into the digital world completing a degree in graphic design so pretty up there with photoshop :)
All this time I never pursued photography all the way, sure I dappled in it but not seriously…. until now!
I have owned a Canon EOS 50D for 3 years (plan on upgrading) which has given me great raw photos to which I have managed to edit to a fairly professional level….. I have experimented a lot with natural light but really want to play with studio and studio lights for my next path as an artist using photography.
I am planning to do a course in photography but I was completely impatient and have acquired a 2 head soft box kit :)
So far I have got it working with the camera and have disabled the camera's flash and sync the camera with the soft box, which I hope I have done it right??… but now I am trying to fine tune the rest of the settings which yes I am not very knowledgeable in - oh dear!!!
So currently the photos are coming up very bright - overexposed - no idea where I got the idea from, probably very wrong, but I adjusted the ISO and the pictures became loads better set at around 400… I am guessing I need to adjust aperture to reduce the natural light? and shutter speed is that right and what else should i do??

What I would love to achieve is low key portraits, portraits against white or lighter backdrops etc - I am wanting to paint and create artworks on the human body so thats what I am looking at bringing in the photography to capture these artworks.
Thank you in advance :)