Newbie! Which lens to choose for wildlife/bird photography

vellalar

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Dear Frenz,

I'm a newbie to photography. I was motivated to photography, as i do a lot of trekking. I have a Canon 450D with 18-55mm lens. I need advice on the best lens for wildlife/bird photography. I'm more concerned about the prices too, i hope to start with some low rage lenses and then switch over to a high end model later.

Cheers!

Pls let me know how i could post my photos here. i need the experts advice to improve my photography talents

At the top of this forum is a sticky post with photo posting instructions.

For wildlife, you have three choices (in order of the best results last):

1 - Big, fast, expensive lenses.

2 - Learn to get close - real close.

3 - Big, fast, expensive lenses real close.

What lens you start with depends on your budget and whether you want to also use it for other things.

TF

you don't need to repost or start a new thread with the same name to edit posts. i'm pretty sure there is an edit post button. it'll help keep the forums free from clutter

I agree - read the thread that Kundalini linked to -- much that needs to be said has been said there.
One thing though is that small birds are definatly not easy to shoot - a 400mm lens is really the minimum range you can expect to be able to use and get decent closer results.

Also don't ignor the advantages of setting up a hide and feeding stations in your back garden - setup the hide and the feeding stations a good week or more before you intend to shoot to let the birds get used to them. Also place twigs and small branches around the feed stations for the birds to land on that way you can get natural looking photos rather than birds just on the feeder - also note the angle of light as well (where the sun is) idealy you want the sun to light up your subjects rather than be behind them *unless you want backlit birds of course)