Newbie with pictures of children

Discussion in 'People Photography' started by ashjamesgav, Oct 28, 2008.

1. ashjamesgav

ashjamesgav TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hello all,

I'm not only a newbie to this forum, but also a newbie to owning a DSLR. I upgraded from a little Sony Cybershot, so there's a whole world of opportunity in front of me now. I bought a Canon 40D a little over a week ago, and am venturing onto the world of Manual Exposure, although I still have a long, long way to go. I am currently using... *GASP*... The kit lens. It's a 28-135, and I'm fine with it for now, until I can afford an upgrade. I'm using Adobe Photoshop 7.0 to edit the pictures, and I'm a newbie when it comes to that, too. I look up tutorials almost every single time I have to perform a new technique, and am learning that the possibilities with Photoshop are seemingly endless, so how to learn them all? Well, practice, I suppose!

Oh, also... I designed the logo last night, what do you think? It looks a little distorted because it's small (these are not originals of the photos, I'm on my laptop, these are from a website)... I just can't figure out how to add the logo in photoshop and make it so that there aren't those little specs around it once I save.

Anyways, with all of that in mind, I give you a couple of shots...

Any tips/advice welcome!

01. Gavyn (My son, he will be 2 in January)[​IMG]

02. Rachel[​IMG]

03. Tyler[​IMG]

Last edited: Oct 28, 2008
  2. El2

El2 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Cute kids. Only c/c is I think they are a bit dark. You can up the exposure to make them brighter.

3. anastasiasa

anastasiasa TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Cute lookin kids, and pictures do appear on the darker side. Better exposure, and maybe a better backgound than that wall.

4. Jon_Are

Jon_Are TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hi Ashley, welcome!

Here we go...

(don't forget, you asked for it :mrgreen:)