cruiseline47

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hi
my name is lynn, and i have just joined the forum, i am married to dave, and it will be our golden wedding anniverasry in dec, and hoping to cruise the caribbean. i have just realised that you are based in america, and i am in england. do hope i am not intruding on your forum. i love taking pics, i am only a novice. i am about to buy a camera ( just sold my nikon) but i do not know wether to buy a fixed lense or a interchangable. my nikon only had a lense of 18-55 it was not close enough. please could someone give me some advise. thank you all. lynn.

Welcome to the site Lynn. We have people from all over, so it's no intrusion. Your questions about what camera to get invite us to ask you some more questions, like what is your budget? Is your primary use going to be landscape, portrait, etc.?

I know that you said your Nikon with the 18-55mm wasn't close enough, was it a dslr with interchangeable lenses? If so, why didn't you just add an additional lens like a 70-200 or 70-300 to your kit?

hi Ron, if i may call you Ron. yes, i had thought about adding another lens, but it would have taken my expense more than i would have like. i sold my nikon and have seen a camera with a lens 75-300 and 18-55. the camera is a CANON EOS REBEL T3 1100D. it is on ebay. the price is £269 .95. is it a good camera. i have also been looking a t panasonic lumix. also is it good to have the lcd screen to move ( tilt) etc. there is a LUMIX which as a lens 25.600mm. but it is fixed. i will be taking pics when i am out walking, scenery, flowers etc. like i said i am only ametuer!!!!! many thanks Ron.

The Rebel T3 is an older model, I think they are up to the T-6i or T-7 now, but the 18-55 and 75-300 will give you a lot of options and range. I am not familiar with the Lumix.

.. i do not know wether to buy a fixed lense or a interchangable.
Hi, and welcome!