Newbs first pics w/DSLR opinions please.

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Socalangler, Sep 23, 2008.

1. Socalangler

Socalangler TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hello everyone, I'm completely new at this so any pointers will be much appreciated. My goal is not to become a professional by all means but I would love to learn how to capture pictures of my family in an artistic way. The pictures below were shot the first night i got my DSLR. I have not edited the photos due to lack of experience. Thanks....Mike

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. manaheim

manaheim Jedi Bunnywabbit Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Hi and welcome to the forums. It's 3:00 AM my time and my Nyquil has just woken me up, so please ignore any typos. :)

First shot- try to do whatever possible to avoid using the on-camera flash. It gives some very harsh light and nasty shadows that will tend to ruin most images.

Second one is pretty cool. Nice composition and good expression on the dogs face. You can see both of his eyes, which are nice and usually considered very important in animal pics. It's not an exciting shot, but it's very well done and I like it. I would brighten it up a bit and probably try to expose it by another fstop next time, but other than that- good stuff. Oh, maybe some sharpening. (most digital images need at least a touch of sharpening)

Shots 3 and 4 are pretty good. A touch dark. I would also crop them so she is lower in the frame. Google "rule of thirds" and read up on that. It's sad that a "rule" exists for composition in photography, but it does, and generally if you stick to it you'll come up with some nice shots. I particularly like her face in 4, btw. Cute.

5 is just kinda "meh", not too interesting. Nothing wrong with it, really, just not great.

Once again, welcome!

3. LaFoto

LaFoto Just Corinna in real life Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit