Next Lens??

NicoleDaly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all,

I have the Canon T3i with the standard 18-55mm f/4.5 lens. I'm currently photographing pets, kids, & babies... Basically people ; )

I want to purchase a new lens with awesome bokah, so I heard the 55mm f/1.8 was the one to get, but there is no zoom.
I'm so spoiled by the zoom now on my 18-55, I can't imagine not having it on my next lens.
Another recommendation was to get an 85mm lens with zoom, but I know nothing about it.

Can anyone help me out? I'm new to photography and to this forum : )
Thanks a million!
-Nicole : )

Welcome!

Ok the lens you are talking about is a 50mm f/1.8. Yes there is no zoom, this is called a prime lens. A prime lens will have much better sharpness then a zoom lens will and that is the advantage as well as size and weight generally. The second lens you are referring to is a 85mm but from the way you describe it you are talking about the 85mm 1.8 lens which is also a prime. With a prime you would have to move yourself in relation to your subject rather then turning the focal length (zoom). Primes have been said to make a person a better photographer because is forces you to move around to change your composition.

Now when it comes to the bokah you are referring to, the 50mm f/1.8 is not known for its bokah and actually gets complaints about it. The 50mm f/1.4 however has an excellent bokah and is a great lens. The difference between the 85mm and the 50mm you refer to is simply going to be your distance from the subject. I could go into more detail but you said you are new and I don't want to confuse you any more they you probably will be after you read this. My suggestion would be the 50mm f/1.4.

an 85mm has no zoom either. It's a prime lens or a fixed lens too. The 85 and the 50mm are awesome for portraits. The 50mm on the crop sensor bodies especially.