Next step in photo gear? (Any Advice)

Jbuzzy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am a Photography Student at Northern Michigan University and I am looking for advice on what gear I should be looking at next. I have access to software (adobe CS3 and Lightroom), printers, and a dark room at/from school

I own:
Canon Digital Rebel XTi
-EFS 18-55mm kit lens
-EFS 55-250mm lense
-Sigma 10-22mm Wide Angle Lens
-2 batteries
-2 compact flash cards (1g and a 4g)

Nikon N55 (Film)
-28-80mm lens
-Tamron 70-300mm lens

manfrotto modo tripod
Crumpler whickey and cox photo bag
Canon photo bag
lots of colro film (velvia) and B&W film (ilford)
Macbook Pro (with above programs)
2 External hard drives (WD Passports)

how is my set up? what should I be looking at

It is easier if you provide more information than just an equipment list. Things like
* what type of photography do you like the shoot
* what about your current equipment that you don't like

Photography equipment is purchased with a purpose not just to collect. 50mm f/1.8 (or f/1.4) could be an inexpensive worth while step towards the wonders of prime lenses.

Welcome to the forum.

It seems to me that you are lacking a 'fast' lens (large max aperture). So I would also recommend a prime (non zoom) lens with a large aperture. There are many options, from $100 to $5000+.......so what's your budget?

These kinds of threads make me chuckle... how could anyone on the far side of the world know what YOU need other than yourself?

Having equipment JUST based on what you already bought, thats NO basis for knowing either what you want or what you need.

YOU have to know what you want and what you need... not people on some photography forum.... so, my answer to your question of what should I be looking at" would be... when YOU figure that out, come back and let us know at least we can give you some proper advice instead of shooting in the dark.