Night/Star Photography?

ShutterSpeed

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Teresina, Brazil otherwise known as the End of the
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Ok, maybe i'm overzealous, but as soon as I started learning photography, i wanted to learn night photography.

I've been working at it, but its really hard to get out to locations on a clear night and get a good shot, simply because there is always traffic going by at night and that lighting can glare into your shot. And even when you get far enough out of the city, you worry about being on someone's property, so I feel like an undercover agent trying to get heavenly night shots..and have failed horribly on clear nights to get to a place where I can get the landscape mixed in with the starry night.

Any of you guys taken any good celestial shots?

Ive taken celestial shots but not even close too good, it was windy and my tripod was shaking causing the mess up of the whole picture. I'm waiting till it gets warmer to try that again. And as for the glare I didn't get any and I was about 5 meters from the nearest road.

Ive taken celestial shots but not even close too good, it was windy and my tripod was shaking causing the mess up of the whole picture. I'm waiting till it gets warmer to try that again. And as for the glare I didn't get any and I was about 5 meters from the nearest road.

most of the glare i have gotten has been miniscule and it came from street lights that glared in on the long exposure...

i think the biggest thing is location. You'd think in Arkansas that I'd have all-access to rural areas where a clear night would be gorgeous. Wrong. I'm afraid of being on someone else's property when they drive by and coming after me with a shotgun.

Another challenge is the ability to focus. I always set it on manual...and in a dark enough setting, it seems VERY hard to get that focal point on the stars - at least sometimes.