Nikon 50mm 1.4D vs 1.4G

vsliceee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm currently using a 50mm 1.4D on my Nikon D7000
I recently picked it up about 3 weeks ago, and used it for the first time a few days ago
I noticed that at f/1.4-2.5 the photo seemed really..soft, the focusing wasn't just up to my pleasure.
So I was wondering, should I just sell the lens and maybe upgrade to the 1.4G? I have a 35mm f/1.8 lying around too that I might be selling along with the 1.4D IF I do sell it in order to upgrade.

Just wanna make sure going through the hassle of selling the two lenses is worth it for an upgrade to the 1.4G.

I'm still an amateur and trying to get better into photography.

Thanks!

Heres sample images that I took using the 1.4D at f/1.4
DSC_9065watermark.jpg

DSC_9090.jpg

Thanks!

They are soft because you are using 1.4. The DOF is so razor thin that any slight focusing error will be noticeable. Usually with a DOF like that 1 (maybe 2) eyes will be in focus and the rest of the face will be soft. Lens don't perform their best wide open. The sweet spot is usually when you close it up 2 full stops.

I don't think getting the 1.4g is going to help. I have the 1.4g and my pictures are soft at 1.4. Try shooting at a smaller aperture! Are they soft when you shoot at f/2.8? Plus the 50 f/1.4g is around 500.00 and you already have one. I honestly don't know if or what improvements were made in the new one besides the af motor in the lens.

That goes for all 1.4 lenses wide open too. They are all soft in the corners wide open, you can expect that.

One tip.. when you're wide open on a 1.4 use selective focus on the closest eye. Stay away from matrix and 3D focusing, you will not get good results.

Ah thank you for the help everyone! and yes, shooting at f/2.8 I received a much sharper image with much higher contrast.